List of Alberta Oil & Gas Companies that use Enhanced Oil Recovery

June 27th, 2013 by

What is EORĀ 

Enhanced Oil Recovery (abbreviated EOR) is a generic term for techniques for increasing the amount of crude oil that can be extracted from an oil field. Enhanced oil recovery is also called improved oil recovery or tertiary recovery (as opposed to primary and secondary recovery).

Examples of EOR

Steam Assisted Gravity Drainage (SAGD) is an enhanced oil recovery technology for producing heavy crude oil and bitumen. It is an advanced form of steam stimulation in which a pair of horizontal wells are drilled into the oil reservoir, one a few metres above the other. High pressure steam is continuously injected into the upper wellbore to heat the oil and reduce its viscosity, causing the heated oil to drain into the lower wellbore, where it is pumped out. as an in-situ SAGD bitumen recovery facility.

Gas injection or miscible flooding is presently the most-commonly used approach in enhanced oil recovery. Miscible flooding is a general term for injection processes that introduce miscible gases into the reservoir. A miscible displacement process maintains reservoir pressure and improves oil displacement because the interfacial tension between oil and water is reduced. This refers to removing the interface between the two interacting fluids. This allows for total displacement efficiency.

Polymer flooding is a means of injecting long chain polymer molecules in an effort to increase the injected water viscosity. The addition of these chemicals means that the fluid would behave like a non-Newtonian fluid; at low velocities it is resistant to flow. This method not only improves the mobility ratio (by lowering it) but also the vertical and areal sweep efficiency.

Fire flood works best when the oil saturation and porosity are high. Combustion generates the heat within the reservoir itself. Continuous injection of air or other gas mixture with high oxygen content will maintain the flame front. As the fire burns, it moves through the reservoir toward production wells. Heat from the fire reduces oil viscosity and helps vaporize reservoir water to steam. The steam, hot water, combustion gas and a bank of distilled solvent all act to drive oil in front of the fire toward production wells.

 

Account Name Website 2012 Drilling License 2013 Drilling License
CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES LTD. www.cnrl.com 1536 588
Cenovus Energy Inc. www.cenovus.com 1217 200
HUSKY Energy www.huskyenergy.ca 532 147
ConocoPhillips Canada Resources Corp www.conocophillips.ca 490 63
Suncor Energy Inc. www.suncor.com 439 147
ENCANA CORPORATION www.encana.com 414 190
Devon Canada Corporation www.devonenergy.com 393 90
MEG Energy Corp. www.megenergy.com 326 96
NEXEN INC. www.nexeninc.com 232 142
Imperial Oil www.imperialoil.ca 221 182
BP Canada Energy Company www.bp.com 207 7
Shell Canada Limited www.shell.ca 179 168
Penn West Exploration www.pennwest.com 176 46
Athabasca Oil Sands Corp www.aosc.com 151 70
SilverWillow Energy Corporation www.swenergy.ca 150 0
MacKay Operating Corp 148 25
PENGROWTH Energy Corporation www.pengrowth.com 134 49
Statoil Canada Ltd 132 10
Sunshine Oilsands Ltd www.sunshineoilsands.com 106 18
Murphy Oil Company Ltd. www.murphyoilcorp.com 105 31
Bonavista Petroleum Ltd www.bonavistaenergy.com 98 37
SYNCRUDE CANADA INC www.syncrude.ca 95 231
Twin Butte Energy Ltd. www.twinbutteenergy.com 91 9
Grizzly Oil Sands ULC www.grizzlyoilsands.com 81 11
Baytex Energy Corp. www.baytex.ab.ca 78 73
Harvest Operations Corp www.harvestenergy.ca 65 18
Perpetual Energy Inc www.perpetualenergyinc.com 64 20
Angle Energy Inc www.angleenergy.com 53 20
Bellatrix Exploration Limited www.bellatrixexploration.com 45 21
Osum Oil Sands Corp 42 5
Value Creation Inc www.vctek.com 36 0
BlackPearl Resources Inc. www.blackpearlresources.ca 33 4
Windtalker Energy Corp. 33 0
Koch Exploration Canada L.P. www.kochind.com 30 7
Enerplus Corporation www.enerplus.com 29 11
Japan Canada Oil Sands Limited www.jacos.com 29 35
TOTAL E AND P CANADA LTD www.total-ep-canada.com 27 2
Tangle Creek Energy Ltd 24 5
Barrick Energy Inc www.barrick.com 23 6
Connacher Oil and Gas www.connacheroil.com 21 2
Brion Energy www.brionenergy.com 20 0
Bounty Developments Ltd www.bountydev.com 17 0
Southern Pacific Resource Corp www.shpacific.com 17 2
TRAFINA Energy Ltd. www.trafinaenergy.com 16 0
Laricina Energy Ltd www.laricinaenergy.com 15 4
Oak Point Energy Ltd. www.oakpointenergy.ca 11 0
Manitok Energy Inc 10 4
Traverse Energy Ltd 9 3
Frog Lake Energy Resources Corp 5 0
CNPC International Canada Ltd www.cnpc.com.cn/en/ 3 13
Alberta Oilsands Inc www.aboilsands.ca 2 0
Georox Resources Inc. www.georoxresources.com 1 0
Bellamont Exploration Ltd. www.bellamont.com 0 0
Blue Horizon Energy Inc www.blue-horizon.ca/energy 0 0
Canadian Forest Oil Ltd www.forestoil.com 0 0
Cavalier Energy Inc www.cavalierenergy.com 0 6
CEC North Star Energy Ltd 0 6
DEERGARDEN RESOURCES www.dg-resources.com 0 10
Ivanhoe Energy Inc. www.ivanhoeenergy.com 0 5
Kasten Energy Inc 0 2
Lakeridge Resources Ltd 0 0
Marathon Oil Canada Corporation www.marathon.com 0 0
Oil Reserve Corp 0 0
Pearl Exploration & Production 0 0
Petrobank Energy Resources www.petrobank.com/ 0 0
Prosper Petroleum Ltd 0 24
Result Energy Inc. www.resultenergy.com/ 0 0
Solara Exploration Ltd www.solaraexploration.com/ 0 0
UTS Energy www.uts.ca/ 0 0

 

Topics: Uncategorized